Murray-Darling Basin

The Murray-Darling Basin is a large geographical area in south-eastern Australia.

The name is derived from its two major rivers, the Murray River and the Darling River.

The Murray-Darling Basin is one of the most significant agricultural areas in Australia, which drains approximately one-seventh of the Australian land mass.

Murray Darling Basin


  • Area: 1 million square kilometres
  • Length: 3,375 km
  • 20 major rivers, including Australia’s 3 longest rivers
  • 22 river catchments
  • 16 internationally important wetlands
  • 71% of irrigated area in Australia
  • 40% of value of Australia’s agriculture
  • 32 public dams and storages